Introduction

(Para ler este post em português: O Início)

So… I have a blog.
But how do I start?
I have never tried to write about anything seriously, specially in a language that’s not my own…

I’ll start from the very beginning: how this idea was born.

Cristiane who is one of my girlfriends from IBM loaned me that movie Eat Pray and Love… Watching it made me wonder how amazing it would be to travel all around the globe for a year, learning about different cultures, meeting new people…

oh wow…

… But how could I dream of doing something like this when I have such a great job? Yes it’s true that the construction market is in great shape nowadays, but who knows how is it going to be in a year or two…??

On the next Monday I mentioned my silly dreams to the girls during lunch and then another friend Flavia asked me innocently “But why don’t you go? Do you know that as an IBMer you can have an 1 year leave of absence…? You don’t have kids nor family nor any other responsibilities to hold you here…”

Wait… What?!?!? Do you mean I can travel for an entire year and still keep my job?!? Are you kidding me?!?

She wasn’t.
Yes, it’s true.
I can live my dream.

One important thing that needs to be mentioned here about the IBM’s license is that you do need some approvals to get it. And that the license should be somehow used to help you develop your professional skills. So I would need to find classes regarding my job role… Not so hard to get I thought.
I talked to my manager and noticed he got really sad… I could see tears inside his eyes… That broke my heart but I had to keep my objectives in mind and had to be strong.
My arguments were tough I now. I said that if he wouldn’t agree I would quit immediately to take another job with bigger incomings…
After a couple of hours of several arguings he agreed.

Let’s plan!

2 thoughts on “Introduction”

  1. Hi! Thank you for your comments a while back…I’ve finally sat down to check out your blog, and I’m very excited to read through the past couple months! I always love to find others who have chosen to break away from the norm and embark on a journey, simply because it feels like the right thing to do. Many blessings!

Don't be shy, I LOVE comments!!

