Epic Trans-Sib Railway is Epic

(Para ler este post em Português: A Extraordinária TranSib)

Rainy Sunday, big headache. Maybe it wasn’t a good idea to have chosen vodka instead of whiskey last night… I guess I was trying to get inspired for this post… hahaha

I haven’t been writing lately but I do have been reading and researching a lot for my journey. Last week was really tough at work and… No no that’s bullshit. To be honest I just wasn’t in the mood, and that’s all. Then last Friday I was complaining about my lack of inspiration with a friend and he told me I should get off from my routine for a while, that I should do something I wouldn’t do usually. And so I did.

I started not going to the gym this morning and finished watching the Uriah Heep’s Celebration DVD. If I don’t like Uriah? Of course I like them!! – they’re one of my most favorite bands and I’m listening to them right now. It’s  just that I can’t stand watching TV… I prefer to hear music instead of watching. (Fortunately it had only 45min duration so it wasn’t time enough to make me too bored! hahaha)

The good thing is that it kind of worked for me, and I’m sitting here in the couch typing again…

Now back to the subject. If I had to bet I would say you didn’t pay enough attention to the map I’ve used to illustrate my WWWander 4th post. But in fact – following my sister’s advice – I’ve signaled in that map the primary itinerary of my journey.

… Did you noticed something about the route from UK to Beijing…?

I didn’t mention this before, but of course I wanna travel somewhere in Russia… Hey!! What if I could travel not only “somewhere” but “all along it”?!? Is there any better way to explore a land as big as Russia than riding in a train…?!?

At this point you may think “So what? What’s the big deal about riding in a train?”

The big deal is that I’m talking about the iconic Trans Siberian Railroad! It’s nothing less then the world’s longest railroad comprising 9.289km of extension through one of the most icy and inhospitable regions on earth. In return it offers the privilege of admiring large rivers, snow-capped mountains, endless forests, vast plains and natural wonders such as Baikal Lake, the pearl of Siberia. As 9gaggers would say “Epic Trans-Sib is Epic”!

So I’ve found the perfect itinerary for this step of my journey… it’ll be something like this:

Day 1-3: Arrival in St. Petersburg, explore the city, drink some vodka, and on the 3rd day at Moskovsky Station I’ll board the Moscow bound train

Day 4-6: Arrival in Moscow, sightseeing, exploring, drinking vodka, and on the 6th day at Yaroslavsky Station I will board the Beijing bound train

Day 7-9: on board, tasting the food from the ancient babushkas, drinking vodka, travelling through Kazan and Ekaterinburg

Day 10-13: Arrival in Irkutsk and transfer to Listvyanka on the shore of Lake Baikal, Siberian Dog sledding, drinking more vodka, back to explore Irkutsk and on the 13th day I will board the Beijing bound train

Day 15: Arrival in Beijing Central Station!!!

Built over 25 years (1891-1916) with the forced labor of thousands of convicts the Trans-Siberian Railroad is one of the great engineering works of the last century and remains a challenge to today’s travelers, whether they are Siberian residents or tourists searching an exotic destination.

4 thoughts on “Epic Trans-Sib Railway is Epic”

  1. Hi WWW,
    I heard that getting shower on a moving train is a problem and passengers take the golden opportunity of having a shower near to the rail station when the train stops. Can you please comment on that?
    Thanks & regards, Michael

    1. Hi Michael,
      During my researches for this post I didn’t actually read anything about having showers nearby the rail stations… though it is possible indeed I think it would be too risky and I wouldn’t do it… the train stops about 5-8 times a day, sometimes for 3 minutes and sometimes for up to 30 minutes. That’s the main reason I’ve decided to get off the train and spend a night in a hotel every 2 days.
      One thing that can be done to reduce the discomfort is to take a banya sandunovskiye ($ 20), the typical Russian sauna, where goers rub their bodies with birch leaves to open the pores and remove impurities. After the steam bath, the banya ends up with a swim in a freezing water pool.

      Thx for visiting my blog!!

Don't be shy, I LOVE comments!!

